Cookie 聲明

為提升本網站的服務品質,本網站會使用Cookies記錄您的資訊。若您想進一步了解本網站Cookies使用及如何停用Cookies,請參閱 隱私權聲明

若您拒絕Cookies設置,請至瀏覽器對Cookies的接受程度完成相應修改及設定後再行瀏覽本網站。

媒體中心

聯絡我們

語言

新聞

宣傳品 & 影片

產業與應用

Client-Side Innovation™

產品

企業社會責任

關於我們

人力資源

建築材料

塑膠系列

橡膠系列

電子材料

特用化學品

勝過歐盟食品接觸材料標準的ABS樹脂

巧克力製造商使用奇美供應的材料,生產安全性更高的玩具及容器

下載

主要客戶、產業與應用資訊

歐洲巧克力製造商

機會

提高巧克力商品所附贈之塑膠玩具的安全性

挑戰

-歐盟政策針對食品接觸材料設下高門檻 -對健康有害的潛在負面影響 -大規模生產符合新政策之ABS樹脂可能帶來巨額成本負擔

解決方案

奇美推出了業界首創的潔淨製程,能大量生產丙烯腈單體殘留量低於5 ppm(百萬分濃度)的ABS樹脂

成果

-客戶在遵循其內部更高品管標準的同時,也成功實現歐盟法律所設定的新標準 -成功保護客戶的品牌聲譽及其最終商品的安全性

一間歐洲的巧克力製造商正面臨著兼顧消費者安全與其品牌聲譽的棘手難題。歐盟更新了其食品接觸材料法規(歐盟執行委員會第10/2011號規範,即「Commission Regulation (EU) No.10/2011」),限制食品接觸塑膠之丙烯腈單體殘留量應低於10 ppm(百萬分濃度),以防止有害化學物質滲入食品中。基於ABS(acrylonitrile butadiene styrene)樹脂在物理特性方面的優勢,這間巧克力公司使用了此材料製作其巧克力商品所附贈的玩具。正因如此,該公司需要尋求能夠符合這項新規定的ABS製造商。 這家巧克力廠商基於自身的高標準,進一步將其內部規範之單體殘留量限制調降至5 ppm,但隨即發現,能夠將材料品質維持在區區20 ppm以下的製造商也寥寥無幾。在測試過其全球ABS供應商之後,奇美是其中唯一可達成低於5 ppm檢測值的廠商。然而,要維持此高品質並進行大量生產,似乎是一項不可能的任務。

針對ABS樹脂打造絕佳潔淨製程

為了幫助客戶實現這個遠大的目標,奇美毅然決然地接下這項挑戰。起初採用了其他廠商曾嘗試過、最後卻無疾而終的作法,來針對潔淨製程進行改良。這項作法是透過重複加工ABS樹脂,使最終成品達到預期標準。然而,經此方法產出的ABS樹脂,不僅剛性、拉伸強度和衝擊強度不足,且製造成本高、生產效率低,過程中還會產生過多的廢水。 於是,奇美團隊回到起點重新思考,希望從大量製造的角度出發,研擬出一套可行性高且符合永續目標的新生產模式。經過漫長的研發過程後,開發出一套先進的生產系統,可先針對ABS樹脂的個別原料(丙烯腈、聚丁二烯和苯乙烯)進行潔淨作業,再將經過處理的原料結合成最終的ABS樹脂。這套製程能夠持續控管產品中單體殘留量的水準,並且可避免對最終ABS樹脂的物理特性造成任何負面影響。

滿足最新規定

奇美持續供應的潔淨ABS樹脂,讓這間巧克力製造商如今可以高枕無憂地按歐盟法規行事。此外,從相關創新過程中習得的專業知識和技術,也讓奇美有更多機會幫助其他公司達成歐盟的高標準規定(全球許多地區已開始相繼採用),甚至有過之而無不及。

我們的客戶感到相當滿意。事實上,隨著玩具產業蓬勃發展,加上全球各地競相採行歐盟標準,許多玩具製造商紛紛意識到他們可以使用我們的POLYLAC系列材料。換言之,這些廠商需要奇美為他們供應原料。

林偉民

奇美實業一般塑料事業部經理

POLYLAC PA-757F樹脂材料

POLYLAC PA-757F樹脂材料

低殘留單體級ABS樹脂

同一件衣服您會洗兩次嗎?

當衣服沾染到頑強污漬,您可能會決定把衣服洗兩次,或採用更高規格進行清理。但在這麼做的同時,也可能會不小心把衣服洗褪色,或是在過程中弄丟幾顆鈕扣。奇美實業一般塑料事業部經理林偉民表示,設法降低ABS樹脂中單體殘留量的作法,其實也運用到類似的「平衡」概念。為了滿足歐盟的高門檻規定,ABS樹脂製造商必須想方設法去除製品中的單體殘留量,但同時卻可能導致材料的結構性能遭到破壞。為了幫助客戶實現其業務目標,便要在製程中力求平衡,以避免過與不及的情況發生。

聯絡我們

關於奇美實業

奇美是一家創立於台灣的高性能材料公司。我們研發並製造先進的高分子材料、合成橡膠和特用化學品。

創新


產業與應用

隱私權聲明

 | 

Copyright © CHIMEI. All rights reserved.

Cookie Policy

We use cookies to collect your information for improving the quality of our website and services. To learn more about how we use cookies on this website, please read our Privacy Policy . You may refuse the use of cookies by selecting the appropriate settings in your browser prior to browsing or using this website.

Media Center

Contact Us

Language

News & Press Releases

Publications & Videos

English

繁體中文

简体中文

Applications

Client-Side Innovation™

Products

CSR

About Us

Careers

Building Materials & Construction

Plastics

Synthetic Rubbers

Electronic Materials

Specialty Chemicals

English

繁體中文

简体中文

Applications

Products

CSR

About Us

Careers

Back

ABS That Beats EU Food Contact Standards

Chocolate-Maker Turns To CHIMEI For Safe Toys & Containers

Download

Key Client/Industry/Application Info

European Chocolate Maker

Opportunity

Increase the safety of plastic toys included with the customers’ chocolate product

Challenges

- EU policy sets high bar for food contact materials - Potential adverse health effects - Potential huge costs to mass produce ABS that meets new policy

Solution

CHIMEI developed a cleaning process to mass produce ABS with acrylonitrile monomer residue below 5 ppm — an industry first

Results

- Customer complies with EU law and its even higher internal QC standards - Protected customer's brand reputation and end-customers’ safety

A European chocolate-maker faced a daunting challenge, both to protect its customers’ safety, and its brand reputation. The EU had updated its food contact materials legislation (Commission Regulation (EU) No.10/2011), limiting acrylonitrile monomer residue to below 10 parts per million (ppm) in food contact plastics, to prevent harmful chemicals leaching into the food. This particular company uses acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) to make the toys that come with its chocolate products, to take advantage of the polymer’s physical strengths. Therefore, the chocolate-maker needed an ABS manufacturer that could meet the new limits. Because of its own high standards, the company had also reduced its internal monomer residue limit even further to 5 ppm. Yet, the chocolatier soon found that very few manufacturers could maintain a consistent quality below even 20 ppm. After testing its various global ABS suppliers, CHIMEI was the only one to achieve a result below 5 ppm. However, consistently mass producing that high quality seemed impossible.

How Best To Clean The ABS?

At CHIMEI, we took on the challenge to help our customer achieve their ambitious goal. At first we considered optimizing the cleaning process that other manufacturers had already attempted and abandoned. That involved simply re-processing the ABS until it met the right standard. However, the rigidity, and tensile and impact strength of the resulting ABS was insufficient, not to mention the process itself was costly, inefficient, and created excessive waste water. We went back to the drawing board, to formulate a new approach that would be feasible and sustainable on a mass scale. After a lengthy R&D process, we developed a pioneering system that cleans the individual input materials — acrylonitrile, polybutadiene, and styrene — before combining them into the final ABS. This allows us to consistently control the monomer residue levels, without negatively affecting the physical properties of the final ABS.

Meeting The New Regulations

With CHIMEI’s consistent supply of clean ABS, the chocolate-maker can now comfortably adhere to the EU regulations. In addition, the know-how we gained from this innovation process also allows us to help other companies meet and exceed the EU’s high standards, which are now beginning to be accepted in other regions.

Our client is happy. In fact, lots of toy manufacturers now see they can use CHIMEI’s POLYLAC, because the toy industry is growing, and EU standards are gradually being accepted globally. So they need our materials too.

Wayne Lin

General Plastics Department Manager at CHIMEI

POLYLAC PA-757F

POLYLAC PA-757F

Low Residual Monomer ABS

Would You Clean Your Clothes Twice?

If your clothes are heavily stained, you might decide to wash them twice, or put them on a higher setting. But, you run the risk of washing out the color or losing a few buttons in the process. CHIMEI’s Wayne Lin, General Plastics Department Manager, says reducing the monomer residue in ABS is a similar balancing act. To meet the EU’s high requirements, ABS manufacturers must remove the monomer residues, but doing so also runs the risk of reducing the material’s structural performance. This is the balancing act we undertook to help our customer achieve their goals.

Contact CHIMEI Today

About CHIMEI

CHIMEI is a Taiwan-based performance materials company that designs and manufactures advanced polymer materials, synthetic rubbers, and specialty chemicals.

Our Innovation


Applications

Privacy Policy

 | 

Copyright © CHIMEI. All rights reserved.